Skip to content

When Singapore Turned into Gotham City

December 25, 2010

Dennis and Steve are so into the new game Batman: Arkham Asylum and it reminded me how one day, on one of the tallest buildings in Singapore, I was able to witness a scene not unlike that of Christopher Nolan’s depiction of Gotham City.

It was during the very first Youth Olympic Games held in 2010 in Singapore. The atmosphere up there was really amazing. It was definitely a once in a lifetime experience, to be so high up in the sky, and to watch the fireworks popping from below me, and on the adjacent buildings. The high-power light beams cut through the clouded sky as if searching for some impending air raid (but of course there was no alarm for that was an exceedingly unlikely prospect).

I must really thank my lab partner Kelvin for suggesting that place to me. I brought a friend along but i don’t think she was as awed as me at the sight. We were watching, like a god from up above, a piece of history get written.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

